MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#17
Alex Cobb
ERA W-L K
7.14 2-9 43
Team: BaltimoreHt / Wt: 6-3 / 205
Position: SPBorn: 10/7/1987 Birthplace: Boston, Massachusetts
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 4th Round by Devil Rays (2006)


Latest News
June 16 3:53 PM PT4:53 PM MT5:53 PM CT6:53 PM ET18:53 ET22:53 GMT6:53 3:53 PM MST5:53 PM EST4:53 PM CST6:23 PM VEN2:53 UAE (+1)5:53 PM CT-Alex Cobb fell to 2-9, allowing five runs on seven hits and two walks in 7.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Miami Marlins 5-4 on Saturday. Cobb struck out six, ending the game with a 7.14 ERA and 1.71 WHIP on the season.
June 10 1:14 PM PT2:14 PM MT3:14 PM CT4:14 PM ET16:14 ET20:14 GMT4:14 1:14 PM MST3:14 PM EST2:14 PM CST3:44 PM VEN0:14 UAE (+1)3:14 PM CT-Alex Cobb fell to 2-8, allowing nine runs on 11 hits and one walk in 3.2 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 13-3 on Sunday. Cobb struck out five, ending the game with a 7.23 ERA and 1.77 WHIP on the season.
June 5 6:50 PM PT7:50 PM MT8:50 PM CT9:50 PM ET21:50 ET1:50 GMT9:50 6:50 PM MST8:50 PM EST7:50 PM CST9:20 PM VEN5:50 UAE (+1)8:50 PM CT-Alex Cobb improved to 2-7, allowing one run on two hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the New York Mets 2-1 on Tuesday. Cobb struck out seven, ending the game with a 6.19 ERA and 1.66 WHIP on the season.
May 28 12:59 PM PT1:59 PM MT2:59 PM CT3:59 PM ET15:59 ET19:59 GMT3:59 12:59 PM MST2:59 PM EST1:59 PM CST3:29 PM VEN23:59 UAE2:59 PM CT-Alex Cobb fell to 1-7, allowing three runs on five hits and three walks in 7.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Washington Nationals 6-0 on Monday. Cobb struck out three, ending the game with a 6.80 ERA and 1.81 WHIP on the season.
May 23 8:08 PM PT9:08 PM MT10:08 PM CT11:08 PM ET23:08 ET3:08 GMT11:08 8:08 PM MST10:08 PM EST9:08 PM CST10:38 PM VEN7:08 UAE (+1)10:08 PM CT-Alex Cobb fell to 1-6, allowing six runs on eight hits and two walks in 3.2 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Chicago White Sox 11-1 on Wednesday. Cobb struck out three, ending the game with a 7.32 ERA and 1.93 WHIP on the season.
May 18 7:33 PM PT8:33 PM MT9:33 PM CT10:33 PM ET22:33 ET2:33 GMT10:33 7:33 PM MST9:33 PM EST8:33 PM CST10:03 PM VEN6:33 UAE (+1)9:33 PM CT-Alex Cobb improved to 1-5, allowing three runs on 10 hits and one walk in 6.1 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Boston Red Sox 7-4 on Friday. Cobb struck out three, ending the game with a 6.56 ERA and 1.85 WHIP on the season.
May 12 7:36 PM PT8:36 PM MT9:36 PM CT10:36 PM ET22:36 ET2:36 GMT10:36 7:36 PM MST9:36 PM EST8:36 PM CST10:06 PM VEN6:36 UAE (+1)9:36 PM CT-Alex Cobb fell to 0-5, allowing four runs - three earned - on seven hits in 5.2 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 10-3 on Saturday. Cobb struck out five, ending the game with a 7.06 ERA and 1.88 WHIP on the season.
May 6 3:36 PM PT4:36 PM MT5:36 PM CT6:36 PM ET18:36 ET22:36 GMT6:36 3:36 PM MST5:36 PM EST4:36 PM CST6:06 PM VEN2:36 UAE (+1)5:36 PM CT-Alex Cobb fell to 0-4, allowing two runs - one earned - on five hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Oakland Athletics 2-1 on Sunday. Cobb struck out five, ending the game with a 7.61 ERA and 2.03 WHIP on the season.
May 2 10:14 PM PT11:14 PM MT12:14 AM CT1:14 AM ET1:14 ET5:14 GMT13:14 10:14 PM MST12:14 AM EST11:14 PM CST12:44 AM VEN9:14 UAE12:14 AM CT-Alex Cobb allowed two runs on seven hits and two walks in 6.0 innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Los Angeles Angels 3-2 on Tuesday. Cobb struck out two, ending the game with a 9.68 ERA and 2.38 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 25 7:09 PM PT8:09 PM MT9:09 PM CT10:09 PM ET22:09 ET2:09 GMT10:09 7:09 PM MST9:09 PM EST8:09 PM CST9:39 PM VEN6:09 UAE (+1)9:09 PM CT-Alex Cobb fell to 0-3, allowing five runs on 10 hits and one walk in 4.2 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 8-4 on Wednesday. Cobb did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 13.11 ERA and 2.83 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 19 1:24 PM PT2:24 PM MT3:24 PM CT4:24 PM ET16:24 ET20:24 GMT4:24 1:24 PM MST3:24 PM EST2:24 PM CST3:54 PM VEN0:24 UAE (+1)3:24 PM CT-Alex Cobb fell to 0-2, allowing seven runs - five earned - on 10 hits and one walk in 3.1 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Detroit Tigers 13-8 on Thursday. Cobb struck out four, ending the game with a 15.43 ERA and 3.14 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Cobb made his second start after signing a $57 million, four-year contract in spring training.
Apr. 14 1:15 PM PT2:15 PM MT3:15 PM CT4:15 PM ET16:15 ET20:15 GMT4:15 1:15 PM MST3:15 PM EST2:15 PM CST3:45 PM VEN0:15 UAE (+1)3:15 PM CT-Alex Cobb fell to 0-1, allowing eight runs - seven earned - on 10 hits and one walk in 3.2 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Boston Red Sox 10-3 on Saturday. Cobb did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 17.18 ERA and 3.00 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 11 11:19 AM PT12:19 PM MT1:19 PM CT2:19 PM ET14:19 ET18:19 GMT2:19 11:19 AM MST1:19 PM EST12:19 PM CST1:49 PM VEN22:19 UAE1:19 PM CT-Cobb remains on course to make his Orioles debut Saturday in Boston.
Analysis: Manager Buck Showalter said the team will ''be cautious'' about Cobb's pitch count.
Mar. 21 10:21 AM PT11:21 AM MT12:21 PM CT1:21 PM ET13:21 ET17:21 GMT1:21 10:21 AM MST12:21 PM EST11:21 AM CST12:51 PM VEN21:21 UAE11:21 AM CT-The Orioles and Cobb have finalized a four-year contract that will pay the free-agent hurler $57 million.
Analysis: After having to wait out this offseason's slow market, Cobb lands himself in a very good spot with the Orioles in great need of another proven rotation arm. The former Tampa Bay Ray returned from Tommy John surgery to win a career-high 12 games and post a solid 3.66 ERA in 29 starts last season. He'll need some time to get stretched out but figures to be ready to contribute sometime in April.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2011 TB 3 2 0 - 0 9 9 0 52.2 49 21 20 3 21 1 37 1.33 3.42
2012 TB 11 9 0 - 0 23 23 2 136.1 130 67 61 11 40 2 106 1.25 4.03
2013 TB 11 3 0 - 0 22 22 1 143.1 120 46 44 13 45 4 134 1.15 2.76
2014 TB 10 9 0 - 0 27 27 0 166.1 142 56 53 11 47 1 149 1.14 2.87
2016 TB 1 2 0 - 0 5 5 0 22.0 32 22 21 5 7 0 16 1.77 8.59
2017 TB 12 10 0 - 0 29 29 0 179.1 175 78 73 22 44 2 128 1.22 3.66
2018 Bal 2 9 0 - 0 12 12 0 63.0 92 55 50 13 16 2 43 1.71 7.14
Career 50 44 0 - 0 127 127 3 763.0 740 345 322 78 220 12 613 1.26 3.80

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 TB 22 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 TB 27 8 0 1 1 0 0 1 0 2 0 0 .125 .222 .250
2017 TB 29 6 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2018 Bal 12 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 127 19 0 1 1 0 0 1 0 7 0 0 .053 .100 .105

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2013 TB Total 1 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 11.2 13 3 2 0 3 0 10 1.54
    WC 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.2 8 0 0 0 1 0 5 0.00
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 5 3 2 0 2 0 5 3.60
Career 1 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 11.2 13 3 2 0 3 0 10 1.54


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 576 94 90 91.8 55.28
Curveball 267 84 78 81.5 25.62
Split-Finger 199 88 84 86.5 19.1

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2018 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.